National War Memorial

National War Memorial

The National War Memorial represents the nation’s gratitude to the Indian Military, which has lost more than 26,000 soldiers while defending the sovereignty and integrity of the country post-Independence. Spread over 40 acres, the monument is about 400 metres off India Gate. The eternal flame of the Amar Jawan Jyoti underneath India Gate was put out and merged with the one instituted at the National War Memorial. The architecture of the memorial is based on four concentric circles. The Raksha Chakra, or Circle of Protection, is the largest of these circles. It is marked by a row of trees which represent soldiers who protect our country. The Tyag Chakra (Circle of Sacrifice) has circular concentric walls of honour based on Chakravyuh. The Veerta Chakra (Circle of Bravery) has a covered gallery with six bronze crafted murals depicting the battles and actions of the armed forces. The fourth is the Amar Chakra, the Circle of Immortality, which has an obelisk and the Eternal Flame

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Create New Account!

Fill the forms below to register

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.